School System Names 2012-2013 School-Level Teachers of the Year

Recognition of all school level candidates, level honorees and announcement of the Douglas County Teacher of the Year will be Oct. 4, at First Baptist Church of Douglasville.

A teacher from each of 33 has been selected to be honored as their school’s 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year.

Each school selected a teacher to honor who is extremely dedicated, knowledgeable, and planning to continue in active teaching status in Douglas County. A workshop to help school candidates move forward in the process was held on May 23. Speakers were Dr. Gordon Pritz, Superintendent; Jeff Morris, Vice Chair of the Board of Education; Jaslyn Dukes, 2011-2012 Douglas County Teacher of the Year, and Karen Stroud, Douglas County School System Community Relations Director.

Each teacher’s county level application will be read and scored by a selection committee. The top eight candidates (two each from the middle and high school level and four from the elementary school level) will be observed teaching in their classroom. The selection committee will interview the eight candidates and name a finalist for each area – Elementary, Middle and High School Teacher of the Year – as well as the overall Douglas County Teacher of the Year. Recognition of all school level candidates, level honorees and announcement of the Douglas County Teacher of the Year will be Oct. 4, at . The reception will begin at 4:30 p.m. and the public is invited to attend.

The school level teachers of the year are as follows: Ivy Cann, Alexander High School; Patty Moody,; Antoinette DeLoach, ; Linsey Strickland, Beulah Elementary School; Amy Bray, ; Julie LeFils, Bright Star Elementary School; Kendra Rushin, ; Nikki Jones, ; Connie Highnote, ; Cindy Allen, ; Princess Wade, ; Katherine Russ, ; Casey Hall, ; Latita Kelley,; Janis McCalister, ; Kathleen Gilreath, ; Tara Campbell, ; Karen Timms, ; Cory Bell, Lithia Springs Elementary School; Douglas McConnell, ; Elizabeth Landers, ; Clayton Kelley, ; Elizabeth Shadix, Mirror Lake Elementary School; Brooke Byrd, Mt. Carmel Elementary School; Shellie Grant, ; Letracia McCray,; Anitra Turner, North Douglas Elementary School; Melissa Boyd, ; Kelli Rowsey, ; Christina Payne, Sweetwater Elementary School; Desieu Tabue, ; Michelle Hill, ; and Monet Wagstaff-Burns, .

The only person not in the attached photo is Christina Payne, Sweetwater Elementary.

Murray Jr August 06, 2012 at 12:57 PM
I'm sure all the Teachers are deserving, but we are pulling for Karen Timms.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »