Bank of North Georgia to Combine with Bank of Coweta

The combined Synovus divisions will retain the BNG name.

Synovus Bank plans to consolidate two of its bank divisions – Bank of North Georgia and the Bank of Coweta in Newnan.

Synovus, a Georgia-chartered, FDIC-insured bank, today announced in a news releaste that it expects the consolidation to be completed early next year. Douglasville residents won't notice much change at the two local branches, as the combined division will use the Bank of North Georgia trade name.

The newly expanded Bank of North Georgia division will have a total of 41 branches in 16 counties. Don Howard will continue in his role as chairman of Bank of North Georgia and Synovus Regional CEO. Rob Garcia will remain as president and COO of the Bank of North Georgia division.

Following the consolidation, Anne Bell, president of Bank of Coweta, will serve as regional community executive overseeing the Coweta, Fayette, Henry, Rockdale, and Newton county markets.

“Our team members will make the transition for customers as seamless as possible, and will continue to offer the same level of superior customer service,” said Howard. “This initiative will ultimately make our organization more successful in this important Synovus market.”

“By bringing together the banking professionals, expertise, and resources of the two Synovus Bank divisions as one united team, we can leverage our talent, a common name, consistent branding, and advertising for future success in these markets,” said Bell. “Our customers will continue to be served by the same team members they’ve been banking with for years.” 

Synovus Bank is a Georgia-chartered, FDIC-insured bank. Synovus Bank, together with its affiliates, provides commercial and retail banking, investment, and mortgage services to customers through 30 locally branded divisions, 293 offices, and 417 ATMs in Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, Florida, and Tennessee.

Bank of North Georgia, a division of Synovus Bank, operates 38 branches in 15 metro Atlanta counties. This division offers diverse lines of business and personal financial services including Business Banking, Investment Services and Mortgage Lending. Bank of North Georgia's branches are conveniently located in Alpharetta (2), Atlanta (2), Bowdon, Bremen, Buford, Canton, Carrollton (3), Conyers (2), Covington (2), Cumming, Dacula, Douglasville (2), Dunwoody, Fayetteville, Hiram, Jasper, Johns Creek, Kennesaw, Marietta (2), McDonough, Norcross, Peachtree City, Roswell, Sandy Springs, Suwanee, Tallapoosa, Temple, Tucker, Villa Rica and Woodstock.

Bank of Coweta is a division of Synovus Bank, and operates 5 branches in Coweta County, and has operated for nearly 40 years. This division offers diverse lines of business and personal financial services including Business Banking, Investment Services and Mortgage Lending.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »