Penny McHenry Hydrangea Festival Enjoys Largest Crowds Ever

The estimated festival attendance was 5,000 people, including many who traveled hundreds of miles to attend.

Credit: Douglas County Communications & Community Relations
Credit: Douglas County Communications & Community Relations

The 7th annual Penny McHenry Hydrangea Festival is over for 2014, but it enjoyed the largest crowds in the history of the Festival, drawing attendance from every Southeastern state.

The estimated festival attendance was 5,000 people, including many who traveled hundreds of miles to attend.

The Standard Flower Show, organized and sponsored by the four garden clubs of Douglas County, was the centerpiece of the Festival. There were 437 horticulture entries, and 242 were awarded Blue Ribbons; all horticulture entries are scored against “perfection” and were adjudicated by judges certified by the National Garden Club.

The four garden clubs of Douglas County - Ama-Kanasta, Skint Chestnut, Sweetwater, and Town and Country - are all affiliated with the National Garden Club, and are members of the Dogwood District of the Garden Club of Georgia.
The Standard Flower Show is open to the Public for entries, and the general public took home 137 total ribbons  (77 Blue) out of 138 entries. The Douglas County Master Gardeners received 120 ribbons (64 Blue) out of 120 entries; Ama-Kanasta received 98 ribbons (55 Blue) out of 99 entries; Skint Chestnut received 18 ribbons (11 Blue) out of 18 entries; Sweetwater received 22 ribbons (11 Blue) out of 22 entries; and Town and Country received 36 ribbons (21 Blue) out of 36 entries.

Janet Newton was the Sweepstakes Award Winner, which is given to the person whose entries win the most Blue Ribbons. Ms. Newton’s entries won 30 Blue Ribbons. Awards of Merit were won by Mark DeJong - Hosta; Ramon Nunez -Medicinal Herbs; Brenda Eskew - Perennials; Betty Benson - Fern; and Marilyn Ooten - Ivy.

Other horticulture awards included: Sharon Morton - shrubs; Charlene K. Walker - trees; Kathy Henry - flowering container and foliage container; Nancy Berry - dwarf arboreal; Elaine Davis - cut hydrangea; and Paula McClung - container-grown hydrangea.

The Design Division includes table décor. The Table Artistry Award Winners were Kathy Henry and Betty Benson. Mrs. Henry was also given the Award of Design Excellence.

Youth Award Winners were Hailey Simpson (Grades K - 5) and Maci Merrell (Grades 6 - 8). Educational Awards were given to the Douglas County 4-H Club and Gloria Ward of the American Hydrangea Society and Designer Club. The Artistic Crafts Winner was Janice Morris.

Keep Douglasville Beautiful judged the home and business décor competition of local residents and business owners, and awarded garden tour tickets to the winners:

Best Mailbox: Janet Newton, 4028 Hickory Hollow Drive

Best Color: Joyce Ainsworth, 8844 Vansant Street

Best Creativity: Katie Henry, 8661 Bowden Street

Exceptional Design: Julie Hudson, 8692 Campbellton Street

Best Spirit: Shelley Tilt, 8632 Campbellton Street

Best Business: Cultural Arts Center, 8652 Campbellton Street.

— Submitted by Douglas County Communications


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »